Showing posts with label authority seo. Show all posts
Showing posts with label authority seo. Show all posts

3 logical myths that can destroy a business

Columnist Dave Davies breaks down three SEO myths that even rational people believe.

Even the most intelligent people can make decisions based on incorrect assumptions. 






Myth #1: All organic traffic is created equal

This premise has crossed my Inbox more times than I care to recollect. Here’s the core myth:
If we double our organic traffic over the next year, we will double our sales.
Now, this can be true — in fact, in some cases, doubling your organic traffic can more than double your sales. But one can’t approach SEO with this idea as a core.
Let’s take the prospective client, for example. They have site structure issues and a large documentation area and blog. The logic is that if you fix the site structure and internal link issues, you’ll start driving more traffic to the documentation and the blog, which is filled with great content. The problem, of course, is that this traffic is likely to be lower-converting traffic, so hitting the organic traffic targets can be done without hitting what really matters: conversions.
To avoid myth one, the simple approach is to think about the various sections of your site, put a value on those different sections, and then create a formula to ensure that as you’re building out the strategy for the various sections of your site, you’re taking into account the value of that traffic.
Let’s create a simple formula based on the case above. We have a site with product and service pages, a blog and technical documentation. Let’s assume that organic traffic landing in these sections does the following:
  • Site and product pages (represented by x below) — 6 percent conversion rate
  • Blog (represented by y below) — 1 percent conversion rate
  • Documentation (represented by z below) — 2 percent conversion rate
So, our formula for traffic entering the site at various points, assuming a $100 conversion value, would be:
$100 x (0.06x + 0.01y + 0.02z) = revenue
Let’s assume we have $600 in revenue today; that could be attained via 600 visitors entering at the blog:
$100  x (0.06 x 0 + 0.01 x 600 + 0.02 x 0) = $600
Or 100 visitors on the product pages:
$100 x (0.06 x 100 + 0.01 x 0 + 0.02 x 0) = $600
Or 300 visitors to the technical documentation:
$100 x (0.06 x 0 + 0.01 x 0 + 0.02 x 300) = $600
It could also be attained with 50 visitors to the product pages, combined with 146 to the blog and 77 to the documentation. You get the idea.
$100 x (0.06 x 50 + 0.01 x 146 + 0.02 x 77) = $600
So, if we want to double our revenue, we can’t simply double the traffic. Let’s look at the last example. We have:
  • 50 visitors to the product pages
  • 146 visitors to the blog
  • 77 visitors to the documentation
This gives us a total of 273 visitors. If we double our traffic, but the additional 273 visitors are all entering at the blog, we end up with:
  • 50 visitors to the product pages
  • 439  visitors to the blog
  • 77  visitors to the documentation
Enter that into the formula and you get:
100 x (0.06 x 50 + 0.01 x 439 + 0.02 x 77) = revenue
Which works down to :
100 x (3 + 4.39 + 1.54) = revenue
Which gives us a total revenue of $893. So, we doubled traffic but only added about 35 percent to the bottom line — not anywhere near our goals.
The lesson? Not all organic traffic is created equal, but there’s a simple way to figure out what the strategies you are deploying are likely to yield so you can adjust and focus according to your business goals, not arbitrary traffic goals.

Myth #2: It’s important to outrank your competitors

I can’t even count the number of times that I’ve been contacted by both clients and prospects with the statement, “Company XYZ is above me. We’re better than them, and we need to outrank them.”
OK… let’s take a beat and wrap our heads around what’s really being said here. While the statement seems logical, what is actually being said is:
Company XYZ is above me for the phrase I looked up. We’re better than them, and we need to divert all energies away from pursuing ROI goals and focus on one single vanity phrase.
What we need to remember is that none of this is actually about ranking for a specific phrase. In fact, the goal of our efforts is not rankings at all, but rather revenue. I don’t know about you, but if there were higher revenue from ranking in position 21 than position 1, I’d be working hard to get all our clients to the top of page three.
To aid in this, it can be helpful to not just look at keyword volumes using a tool like Moz’s Keyword Explorer (which puts the numbers in more realistic terms for organic search than Google’s Keyword Planner), but to use a tool like SpyFu to get a real picture for how a site is doing overall.
Let’s look, for example, at a phrase I was researching just yesterday, “best cpu 2017.” (Spoiler alert: I’m upgrading my machine.) Now, I immediately went to the #2 organic search result because it’s Tom’s Hardware, and I like the info (admittedly bypassing the featured snippet, which is also Tom’s, because I knew I wanted to read about the different options and applications).
Let’s say, however, that one of their team gets a bee in their bonnet about not ranking #1 in organic for the phrase and getting beaten by Futuremark.com. What if they divert energies from creating new, rankable content, or working on phrases they don’t rank for at all, to pushing up for this one phrase because it’s the only one they’ve looked up and fixated on?
This is where a tool like SpyFu comes in handy. Looking at FutureMark, we can get a decent feel for their rankings and traffic with:
Spyfu competitorSpyfu site
Now, let’s look at Tom’s:
Spyfu site
If I were Tom, I’d be looking more at ranking for new phrases and perhaps researching the types of phrases that are losing ground than I ever would about focusing energies at a single position jump against a competitor ranking for a fraction of the terms. And this is just an example of the scenario I’m referring to. In other situations, people may focus out of the gate on a single vanity term as opposed to a more diversified (read: natural) spread of terms. If nothing else it can be helpful to remember the following:
Diversity is security.
All else being equal, it is better to have 100 phrases each driving 10 visitors than one phrase driving 1,000. As algorithms ebb and flow, you will be impacted less by the whims of Google. Don’t fixate on your rank compared to your competitors for one phrase — make sure you’re making the right keyword decisions to maximize your ROI and resources.

Myth #3: Keyword tools are accurate

Bringing people into reality is often a sad but necessary task. A lot of potential clients include with their initial emails the incredible search volumes for the phrases they’re thinking about.
Let’s flash back a few paragraphs to the part where I mentioned using Moz’s Keyword Explorer as opposed to Google’s Keyword Planner. Why is the former more realistic? It’s because Keyword Planner is built for AdWords traffic and generally produces numbers far above the number of unique searchers that would reach a result via organic. The Moz tool takes this into account and algorithmically (though not perfectly) adjusts for that to give numbers closer to organic reality.
For example, the term “cpu” is given an estimated volume of 74,000/mth using the Keyword Planner. Per the Moz tool, we’d see it ranging from between 30,000 and 70,000. Still a big number, but not the same — in fact, if we averaged the Moz numbers, the estimate would be 50,000/month, or around 33 percent less.
Now let’s make the scenario even worse (read: realistic). You might rank #1 at some point for your phrase, but it’s going to be a process. Let’s be optimistic, however, and assume that a year from now you’re ranking #3 and hold that ranking for the following 365 days. Instead of dreaming that every single person who runs that search (all 50,000/mth) are going to get to your site, let’s assume some click-through rate averages. Here’s what a WordStream study found for traffic by organic position:
CTR impact on rankings in organic search.
So we can see here that, in the number three position in organic search, we were sitting at about 12.5 percent CTR. That’s 6,250 visitors to your site. This is very, very different from the 74,000 expected when the email was sent.
Not understanding what’s realistic in regard to the traffic to be gained from a specific phrase when it’s ranking can lead to critical bad decisions. If you feel you are going to get 74,000 visitors per month for a phrase you’d actually get 6,250 for, your ROI calculations will be off — and you’d likely focus far more energy and resources into it than it warrants. Understanding the true value of a term or group of terms is paramount to understanding how much attention to put into keyword groups and whether they’re truly worth targeting at all.

Conclusion

A lot of mistakes get made before campaigns even begin, and most of them start with a lack of understanding of how keywords and rankings function. No matter how successful the SEO campaign is in regard to the rankings attained, if the principles and data that the efforts were based on are incorrect or misunderstood, then the results can be as catastrophic as if the campaign had simply failed.
Following one guiding principle is all it takes to really avoid the biggest issues: understand what you want, and understand a path to that. Wanting more traffic in itself is not a goal; wanting more conversions and revenue is. Focus on that, and when you’re communicating about strategy, make sure that the discussion is on these business goals and not an abstract idea that, if misinterpreted, could yield actions and efforts that don’t actually support the business but do technically meet the directives given.

The pulse of digital marketing

In added, only specialists comprehend which channel or platform requires more focus and where your company ought to be promoted one of the most. They share interesting and amusing material to your target market in various digital channels to enhance their awareness about your company and capture their interest. From images to videos to graphics to infographics - they take advantage of every aspect to reach to the target market and stir their creativity. They run marketing projects in various social channels so that distinct demographics can be used. They get client post evaluates about your items and share their great experiences with your.

Lots of companies still believe that having a top quality site alone suffices to do well online. They are incorrect which too, huge time, since quality sites have an extremely restricted function to play on the web. Such sites just assist take business online and their influence does not work beyond that. So, exactly what next? Exactly what should a company do to optimize their online existence? Put simply, your company has to market itself. It has to promote its product and services throughout channels on the web. It likewise needs to discover methods to reach to more users online and communicate their brand name messages to them.

Such professionals comprehend the pulse of digital marketing and they are typically the master of improving the digital footprint of brand names from throughout market verticals. They have a remarkable understanding of marketing tools such as SEO, SMO, PPC and show Ads. They understand the best ways to take advantage of both, natural and paid marketing to improve traffic to your site. They prepare, design, execute and carry out marketing techniques ideal for various channels and opportunities in the digital area. These professionals aim to improve the presence of your site and its ranking in internet search engine. They assist your company reach to more users on the web.

All this ends up being crucial since digital material is significantly growing in uses and appeal. Individuals or users are constantly online nowadays and from mingling to sharing to purchasing - they are doing the majority of their operate in the digital area. This is something companies need to keep in mind of and for that reason design an appropriate marketing technique to use the digital activities of users. This is where digital marketing is had to make users familiar with your company as well as to take your product and services to them. In essence, companies have to employ professionals to develop an appropriate and channel-specific marketing method to understand their objectives.

, digital marketer assist you provide quantifiable outcomes so that you can understand all those sees, clicks, conversions, impressions, click-through-rates and so on your marketing projects produce. They increase your existence and exposure in every popular digital channel, which assists a good deal in brand name structure. In such a way, these specialists assist provide a 360 degree digital marketing option to change the digital existence of your company. Just doing this will assist your company target a best audience and recognize its objectives in a prompt and wanted way. So, trust just specialists and grow your company in an anticipated way.

Take advantage of your online competitors by enhancing your web existence.


Enhancing your web existence is difficult. This is something that is refrained from doing over night. It takes some time, effort, and tactical preparation. Whether you’re brand-new to the market or somebody who wished to enhance online existence, these pointers are useful for you.

The competition in the world of online business

The competitors worldwide of online company has actually increased numerous fold in current times. Simply a couple of years back, it was not that tough to obtain pertinent traffic to your site. However with increased competitors and billions of sites out there, it is getting increasingly more tough making a site noticeable. This shift in existing years has actually caused the usage and application of Search Engine Optimization or SEO. Eventually the objective of a company site is to offer services and products online, so it is unavoidable that eventually the requirement for seo will occur.

 

While this increase in online competition has actually triggered numerous techniques of seo, Organic SEO is the very best technique there is for enhancing a site for online search engine. Using approaches of improvement, the ranking of a site on an internet search engine is enhanced, which can likewise be viewed as making a site online search engine friendly, so that it gets more visitors. The more the variety of visitors, the more possibilities exist of conversion, which will in turn add to a boost in income. Organic SEO service which is likewise described as natural SEO, is the procedure of improving a site's ranking on the internet search engine pages. Though it's a time consuming technique, as well as rather laborious, it produces long term advantages. Likewise, it is an expense reliable technique, which might not produce immediate outcomes, however will continue producing outcomes long after the preliminary SEO procedure have actually been finished. It assists catch more consumers and produce more leads due to the fact that through natural SEO your websites are assessed the top of any internet search engine pages.

 


Another significant benefit of natural SEO services compared with non natural SEO, is that it is a lot easier on the pocket, to puts it simply, more affordable. The scenario has actually ended up being such that at the exact same time, countless sites are contending for the very same area at the exact same time. Typical marketing includes big expense, which is not possible for everybody to bear.


 


It is likewise not a good idea, as it includes a repeating expense and not simply one time financial investment. Organic SEO has more practicality due to the fact that it targets the best audience with appropriate keywords that's placed in the material. And this targeted keywords assist sustain the leading area for a prolonged time with no added spending. But all stated and done, it eventually depends upon the kind of company and the particular requirements of business owner, regarding whether Organic SEO must be used or non natural SEO.